Skip to content

My 2012 in comedy videos

01/21/2013

So I direct and write comedy, mostly for my own production company Turtle Canyon Comedy. Here are the films I am most proud of from last year…

I love Jurassic Park and the long grass scene from The Lost World has always amused me with its potential:

I wanted to write something that was shamelessly going after views off the back of a popular thing, mainly to see if I could and if it would help get views.

Matthew Highton explained the basic idea of this to me in a couple of texts and that’s all I needed to know it’d be awesome. We shot it in 2 hours out on Hampstead Heath and then gave it the look of an old, washed out samurai movie. Kind of.

This is something that I wrote years ago and have always wanted to make it but didn’t know who the right people were to cast in the leads. Until I saw Mark Stephenson and Harriet Kemsley on the same comedy night.

This next sketch is the biggest hit I’ve been a part of and was a little idea that Tom Toal chucked in at the end of an email to me. The Daily Star wrote about it and it became something of a phenomenon in Poland.

I regularly appear in, write and direct a web series about a British Batman in a small village. We’re onto a third series now and the magnitude has increased to such a scale that we’re finding it difficult to get the time to make them for our cult audience. This is the opening episode to the third series and I love it because the first scene is a shot-for-shot homage to Mission:Impossible 3 but still works perfectly with the Batman/Joker dynamic and sets up the rest of the series beautifully.

Also, my short film, Chubby Bunny, was screened at the Friars Club Film Festival and London Short Film Festival.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

